My Experiences with Baby Feeding

March 24, 2009 at 11:57 am | Posted in Food, Parenting, Talks about Aryan | 12 Comments

Aryan completed 2 years and 8 months this saturday. I was just looking back at the time that just passed by and I realized that through out this journey of motherhood there is one thing that I did all on my own and I feel most satisfied about. And that one thing was deciding about what should be fed to my child. I am not saying feeding my child because he was fed by my MIL and then his day care people while I worked but I was the one who has always planned his daily meals and i feel pretty satified with the job I have done.

And so I thought I would share my experiences about baby feeding and some things that worked for me. I was initially posting it on healthy and tasty but then I refrained because I am not giving any facts here but just an experience.

foodgroups
One thing that I always believed was that I cannot, could not and should not follow any meal plan or diet chart available on internet. So though I read plenty of material on baby feeding I never really got stuck to one. I just grabbed whatver I liked from each of them.

And one thing that I grabbed was that we should try and include all the different food groups in every day’s diet. But then I was never sat and checked out if I covered everything. I had a broad picture of what foods are rich in carbohydrates ,fats , protiens and I knew that fruits and vegetables are important.

I followed few thumb rules :

Never get overboard with anything , strike a balance between taste ,health and feasibility. Take inputs from everyone but follow your heart.

Respect my child’s preferences and opinion but try to introduce healthy foods to him.Never ever feed him forcefully , if he is hungry he would take it and one day of hunger or junk foods doesnot mean the end of world.

Provide variety to the kid , if I get bored of same stuff so will he.

Your child should get used to your kind of food slowly and steadily.Kids follow by example , if we indulge into loads of junk food , so would they.

So when I stand up in the kitchen in the mornings, I pretty much think this way that if I am giving oats in breakfast in need to give dal rice in lunch , some fruits and bread in evening snacks. And the lunch has to be loaded with veggies as well.

But this need not be fixed every day and so though I cover everything every day I swap timings and preparations like wheat can go in form of bread , paratha, upma, pasta etc. Rice in form of khichidi , uttapam , pulav etc. Fruits should go raw as much as possible. Veggies can be added in breakfast and lunch easily.

For the last thumb rule , here is what I do/did.
I never grinded him food in mixer , I just sieved it out. And slowly started mixing small chunks to it.

I try and make common breakfast for all of us , saves some time as well. Aryan always eats what we eat for dinner from the time he got 10 teeth. Till then as well he used to taste whatever we ate. Plus weekends doesnot involve speacial cooking for him , he eats whatever we eat, be it junk food at times.

Its not that feeding him has been smooth like it feels from this post. I have my own bad days when I feel pissed off and he literally does not want to eat or is too busy to eat and then becomes too cranky. But those days as well are part of his growing up and we cannot really do much about them.Like any mother such days bring stress to me as well but then I have learnt to live with them.

In all I am happy with the way I am doing atleast in this field of parenting..Touch wood ! Any suggestions are always welcome !

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely advice 🙂

    I remember my mom saying the same things…

  2. Extremely great tips there. Food is a constant battle at my home. Thsi post will surely help me. Thanks.

  3. wonderful, wonderful post! I wish more moms would share their experiences on cooking for kids. Being a bad cook, and unimaginitive too boot, I’m at a loss for ways to ensure that my child has a tast as well as healthy meal!! Could you possibly also pleas include the kid of dishes you make for Aryan?

    I did a post on my feeding woes sometime back. At 2, it’s time Bonbon ate everything we did but unfortunately she didn’t teeth as fast as most kids so sometimes it’s really not posible for me to make some dishes for her. that’s why i visit healthy and tasty very often to see if there’s something kid friendly there that we can enjoy too…yep, that’s the focus of my cooking now…child friendly food that can be ingested by adults too!! But since we’re in Schweiz I only have access to a limited number of vegetables that I can feed her and i include at least one type in most meals and fruits are basically reserved for a snack or desserts. As for eating out, we don’t indlude very often here because most food has beef or isn’t child-friendly. Waiting to land in India where I can do more for her.

  4. brilliant stuff! like angie Cubby is nowhere near eating with us. he has just 8 teeth even now. but more than that i think its our laziness to work harder! hopefully in near future he will start eating regular stuff!

    yet again great post!

    cheers!

  5. oh that was a good post… i am totally with u on two things
    1. never ever force
    2. follow ur heart and strike a balance

    i have had multiple show downs with my mil and maid on this because i simply hate forcing food on kids, if he is eating good if he doesnt he will when he is hungry… only thing we need to do is that when he eats it should be something balanced specially if they eat less

    and variety depends totally on the kid… i started with that but over time I have realized that Ojas likes to eat something he likes repeatedly till he gets bored with that and then picks up a new thing… so whatever suits them

    but i totally avoid giving him junk plain simple reason is the one stated above, if he likes it he will stick to only that 😉 lol

    he is still away from eating what we eat cause he has only 6 teeth till now, but I think more than its my hubby unwillgness (is there a word like that) to eat less spicy food… but yes that is the ultimate objective for me too, i have started that slowly now… anyways the only diff in his and our food these days is in terms of spices… i never mash or grind anything now, he is able to eat rice/roti/pasta everything

    oops this seems like a semi post… sorry for the hogging the comment space

    good post

  6. Such an honest and true article. Great job !! We mothers go through this seemingly tough job of feeding the ‘right’ stuff to our kids…and some moms can get very bogged down with that.
    I agree about creating a balance, more so I think it is important to follow the clues that your child gives.

  7. Thanks for the post and the link, S. I have a related issue that I published just yesterday. Can I link you in my blog?

    • Thanks for dropping by. My comment does not get thru on your blog. Please link the post if u wish to.

      • Yes, there is some problem while posting a comment. Thanks for the link.

  8. Hi ,

    I just stumbled upon your blog.. Gr8 Blog and gr8 article.. I am a working woman in mumbai…going to plan a kid soon.. and I have already started thinking about all the stuff u just wrote.. Not to mention being a 1st time mother .. i m very scared.. whether I wuld be able to do everything rite or not

    thanks a lot. U post gave me some confidence.

  9. I know this web site offers quality based posts and extra
    stuff, is there any other site which presents such data in quality?

  10. You Are On Top Of Things! Yep, I Have The Purple Elephant In The Shop With The Option Of Balloons Or Just Strings Or I Can Take Out The Strings Completely, Which Sounds Like It Would Be A Better Fit For You. 🙂


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.