Some questions for you

March 22, 2010 at 11:11 am | Posted in Thoughts, Work | 18 Comments

How much of your personal life do you discuss in office ?

Do you crib about certain family members / issues at work ?
Do you talk about your/family member’s wedding proposals in detail ?
Do you talk about the talks/fights/Issues/expectations between you and your partner ?
Do you talk about the antics of your kids ?
Do you share stories/pictures about you vacations ?

And whom do you share , if you do ?

With people who you consider friends and would like to be in contact even when you move jobs.
With team members / lunch partners who you just call friends.

I do talk about antics of my son and share pictures of my vacation with colleagues who ask or show interest in the same.

I do not share family issues / had not shared wedding proposals with anyone at work , even when I consider them friends.

I cannot think of talking about things between me and my partner to anyone in the world , except 1-2 people whom I consider my lifetime friends (and who are not at work) and that too in rare cirumstances.

But I have seen people doing all of the above. And so I wonder how different I am.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do not share anything that goes on at home with my work mates. Call me silly but that’s how it is. I sometimes do talk about vacations, if asked but no personal details.

    Though I do have made some very good friends at workplace over the course of time. I am quite particular about the amount of information (almost zero except basic details) I share about my personal life with workmates.

    • Thats not silly ..i have believed thats how it should be

  2. I think my stand is ditto urs. All I share if r a few vacation tales if they need details when they r visiting etc… photos only a few when someone shows interest.

    Family issues etc.. r a strict no-no for me. There ws one friend … she is no longer a colleague but still a very close friend .. she ws the only one with whom I used to talk somethings more than work .. but nt completely abt home etc.. πŸ™‚

    • Thats why you are my namesake πŸ˜‰

  3. I don’t discuss home either.
    Some things a few team mates and friends know – like vacations or if I’m not well… it again depends.. like a few of them will know if I cooked a new recipe or bought something new…

    I don’t discuss issues I had with the husband with anyone except the husband!! πŸ˜‰

    I don’t crib or rant about family at work… on rare occasions when I do have a disagreement with parents or my husband, I don’t take the upset-ness to work.

    • Ohh i have known people who have cribbed about their wives and vice versa

  4. Ditto here.. you have company!
    My sisters are my soulmates.. never ever needed to discuss anything personal at workplace.
    Sometimes share amusing teeny weeny bits abt the kids..with those that show some interest :).. thats abt it!

    • Good to know that you have your sisters to confide in πŸ™‚

  5. Tagged !
    http://littlediva.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/7/

    • Sure πŸ™‚

  6. I feel that professional and personal life should never be mixed. Infact I maintain distance even from colleagues. You never know who will take advantage of the information.
    But again there are the clever ones who will use personal details to get pally with people. I have seen a lady becoming thick friend with boss by using this technique.
    Sigh! To each his own

    • Yeah there are such ppl ..I feel how yuck they are πŸ˜›

  7. hmmm it depends…. i have had atleast two friends at work which have become my best buddies obs they know all about me and even now when i we are in different companies and one of them in aus we keep in touch… on a general basis i share vacation pics etc with people i become friendly with and kids antics i dont think any mom can stop herself from sharing if the other person shows interest πŸ™‚

    • So true ..i aggree that if you have close friends its different ..but some ppl share such details with acquaintances and that irritates me ..like my boss telling me details of the misunderstandings between him and his wife πŸ˜›

      • eeks u serious boss discussing all this

        sigh good luck girl πŸ˜‰

  8. i share my vacations and shopping and Cub’s fundas!

    not too much of other stuff! and if i do its only with one close buddy i have!

    • Ditto πŸ™‚

  9. Office is not a place to make friends, no matter what(I feel). I have encountered ppl who declare their personal problems at lunch tables & frankly everyone loves gossip, so it becomes fodder for others. One needs to respect family relations & learn to keep things private. Since they(family) are the ones we go to in times of trouble.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.