2009 – the year

December 22, 2009 at 11:42 am | Posted in Thoughts, Work | 24 Comments

2009 was another quick year that passed by. It passed by like a night of dreams and it was morning when I just slept.

Just today I realized , how we celebrated cristmas last year for Aryan and Aryan had cut a birthday cake for Jesus. I just realized that how we planned to surprise the only Christain colleague in our team through some cake and a small xmas tree , but he never turned up that day.
And its Cristmas all over again.

Time truly flies. How was the year ? What went well ? What did we achieve ? What went worse ? Are some questions that I happen to be thinking today.

Towards the end of 2008 , I felt life to be so disheartening. I felt nothing was really working. Aryan was in the middle of his terrible twos and life was almost hell at home. I was shouting , crying and cribbing most of the times. Hubby was no different. Aryan was irritated and a brat most of the times. Both of us felt that we are terrible parents.

At work , I lost my dream opportunity. I worked towards the transition of a project with my heart and soul and when it came over , I was thrown out of it due to some politics. More so , I was not even given due credit. Recession made it tough to quit and so I decided to stick even after feeling terrible.

2009 came with hope. I decided to give life another try. Anupam and I discussed to be more patient with Aryan. To avoid shouting and refrain from hitting him unless there is a life threatening situation. We helped each other during our outbursts. Aryan’s behaviour improved , may be because he just grew up. But I would also like to believe that it improved because his parents improved their behaviour towards him…anyway ..as long as it improves ..who cares for a reason πŸ™‚

Aryan also started his school and that was the biggest event of the year. It meant an emotional journey for our little family.

At work , I started seeing some hope again. New responsibilities were followed by a promotion. I recollected all my enthusiasm and sailed through the first 2 quarters in flying colours. Then things changed again , at a level that is way beyond my control and the last 2 quarters were again not rosy. Towards the end of the year I am again where I was towards the end of 2008 at work front, just that my title is little different.

But I learnt , 2009 made me a little better parent , a little more patient , a little more happier , a little more matured , a little more health concious , a little more young..yeah ..I feel a little more young than I felt last year ..strange na πŸ™‚

2010 , brings lot of uncertainity , especially at work. But then it brings hope too. A hope to sailthrough. I lived through 31 new years and I survived ..touch wood …32nd cannot be different ..I trust..I know God will bless us as always !

Editted to Add : Ohh God, bless my parents with good health. They suffered a lot due to various health problems this year.

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lots of ups and downs, huh? But then who cares as long as you come out of them as a stronger and better!!

    Wishing you and the family a very happy and blissful year ahead!:-)

    • thanks puja

  2. Whats life without some spice? And if there were no downs, can we really appreciate the ups? πŸ™‚
    Heres wishing you a happy 2010… and may you grow younger each year πŸ˜€

    • True ..where have u been ? Heheh..thanks ..happy new year to you and your family

  3. thats an honest round up! πŸ™‚

    and yes, things will only keep getting better!! have a super 2010! and teach me how to be patient because Cub is in exactly the same phase i am hating it!!

    hugs!

    • Thanks Abha , wish you a nice 2010 too !
      If only parenting can be taught ..i would have taken some classes from mom and mil πŸ˜€

  4. thats a lovely roundup…. hope 2010 is even better πŸ˜€

    hugs and wishes to u and ur family

    and i think i am starting 2010 with the terrible 2 phase… sigh I dont know what to do with this guy

    • aal will be well Mona πŸ™‚

  5. Hugs!

    Hope 2010 gets better for you and your lovely family and all of you are healthy and happy!

    • Thanks and Hugs πŸ™‚

  6. 2010 would be good dear…I can very well relate to Aryan’s terrible twos…
    Happy new near

    • Happy new year to you too !

  7. 2009 Sounds like a good year for you & hoping 2010 is even better πŸ™‚

    • thank you !

  8. Wishing you a happier 2010. 2009 seems to have been a lousy year for a lot of us, health wise. Hoping for a sickness free 2010.
    And good luck on your job front.

    • Thanks ..yeah hope you have a nice year

  9. loved reading your posts. Yes, for me this year has not been so good in many ways either. But, it also had its positive sides. As a parent you have come far, which i think is a big achievement. I know too well it is hard.
    I’m sure it is only going to get better, the year 2010! Hugs and best wishes to you and family!

    • Thanks a lot ! Happy New Year to you too!

  10. Thatz such a honest, from the heart post πŸ™‚ May 2010 bring in a lot of goodies and lot of strength to face life. God bless u all and may ur parents have a healthy yr ahead πŸ™‚ Happy 2010 πŸ™‚

    • Thanks namesake , I am really worried about my parents 😦

  11. That was a very honest roundup. I loved what you have written about Aryan improving because the parents changed their attitude. I believe this to be very true. We keep going through phases such as these with KT. She is still a whiny child but we hope to get there soon πŸ™‚
    Wishing you and your family a great 2010 on all fronts.

    • Thanks COS , missed meeting you yesterday. Have a nice year

  12. Oh Swati, here’s wishing you all success and happiness and peace of mind in 2010.

  13. […] I wrote , a lot has been changing in life , especially in office and thats on my mind most of the time these days. And since I refrain from ranting about office on […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.