Our Admission Story

November 10, 2008 at 3:41 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments

School hunting was on my mind , since God knows when. The main criteria for me was , reasonably good school (well , don’t ask the denifinition of ‘Good’) , thats near by , has been written about on positive note by strangers, is affordable, has been spoken about on postive note by some known people and is preferably a day school or has a day care.

I found 2 schools for consideration , difference being one of them was not written about at all and other one was kind of over hyped. So it was fairly easy getting admission in the first one , but somehow I was keen for the second one as I had 3-4 known kids studying there.

And so we filled forms in both of these. And on 3rd November the second school called us for interview/meeting with principal on 4th. I do not know why , but somehow both Anupam and I felt that we have an exam tomorrow and we have no control over how we will perform in the exam. Anupam did ask me if we can do any preparation , to make Aryan ready for THE DAY , but I thought it would be best to leave things as is and go extempore.

So we reached the school sharp on time. Only to know that our admission form has been misplaced , by an otherwise efficient but overworked office staff.
Within 5-10 mins , she did found our form and told us that there are some 3-4 parents(and kids) in queue before us.

So we waited and waited. Fed breakfast and snacks to Aryan (Thank god , I was carrying that , though I forgot spoon :-P) And then he spotted the play ground and was busy with swings and slides. It was 2.5 hours already past the appointment when we were called for the meeting.

As soon as we entered the room , Aryan started crying for slides. The principal showed him some puzzles and tried hard to make him stay in the room , but he refused. So she asked Anupam to go with Aryan to slides , while she will talk to me.

Now , I thought , is it good that I have control over the exam ๐Ÿ˜› Well it proved to be. As I passed my exam after a few questions and Aryan got admissions. School starts in June and there will be an orientation program before that.

So that was our admission story , whats yours.

P.S :I know you have been waiting for updates on my trip , but this was something of more significance to me. Trip updates will keep coming with pics ๐Ÿ™‚

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. HI,
    belated happy diwlai…I have to yet do that admission part
    AM

  2. Congrats. That is a big load off your shoulders. We went through this last year . YOu can read it here

    http://pourmyheart.blogspot.com/2007/12/laxmipat-interview.html

  3. Congrats on the admission… it’s such a pain to get the kids into good schools… (that’s what i keep hearing from colleagues and friends, anyway)

  4. Congratulations. Your story ended quite on a happy note. This is such a relief. I still start perspiring every time I think about getting Cub into a school. Studied in over 11 schools during a tiny lifetime myself, yet mortally scared of schools. And competing with rich parents.

    Kendriya Vidyalaya, here we come….

    Am sure Aryan will have a great time. Wish him good luck in the new “life”

  5. ๐Ÿ™‚

    wow! That was painless and quick! after all the horror stories we keep hearing about!

    heres to a new phase in Aryan’s life!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    and well done mommy!

    cheers!

    abha

  6. Congrats!!!
    Wishing Aryan and her parents all the very best!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. heyyy congrats on getting the admission..This is a cool story with a happy ending..:D

  8. wonderful news ๐Ÿ™‚
    Congrats and heres wishing Aryan wonderful and happy days of learning!

  9. Hi,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be very good.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog โ€˜Whats on My Mindโ€™ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers,

  10. Hey wow that’s pretty cool! Am glad you made the decision, so super fast. I’m still struggling ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

