Am I a materialistic person ?

July 3, 2008 at 5:18 am | Posted in Introspection | 15 Comments

Today I donated Aryan’s old clothes to an organization called Goonj. So while I was going to do that , I was feeling sad and happy , all at the same time. Happy , ofcourse you know , for being able to do little for the society but why sad ?

I was feeling sad looking at those old clothes. I did not want to part with them. Each of his T-shirt reminded me of days when he wore them for the first time. How he looked cutie in them. I felt like parting away with those memories. I felt like hugging those clothes.

Am I a materialistic person ?

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Not materialistic..its called feeling the attachment for them! πŸ™‚

  2. aww if you are materialistic so am I..hugs babe..i know exactly what you are goign through.
    HEre’s my post on something similar
    http://splendidsunshines.blogspot.com/2008/06/leaving-behind-thingsnot-memories.html

  3. you did give them away!! πŸ™‚

    where is this place? would love to give some of Cubby stuff as well! how much can you save for second one!

    :p

    cheers!

    abha

  4. No you are not…u r a loving mother πŸ™‚

  5. No! you are a sentimental person!

    I feel the same too when I donate my old clothes!

  6. No…….u r just an emotional mommy .

  7. No you are not!
    I give away my old clothes without a blink but find it difficult to five away KT’s stuff. They carry too many memories πŸ™‚

  8. Hi:) i was just wondering did you leave your clothes at my place (which is also a GOONJ collection center) in Faridabad. A lady dropped some stuff yesterday but I forgot to ask her contact details. Was that you?

  9. Bravo……

  10. Of course not! Just a loving Mummy! πŸ™‚

  11. Oh so sweet! I used to feel the same. I guess all of us mums are materialistic when it comes to things belonging to our kids!

  12. YOu are great mommy dear..
    AM

  13. Such a noble thing to do Swati. But, memories attached with them will always be there, that doesn’t make you materialistic..

  14. not materialistic at all. i still have some clothes from my daughter of when she was a baby because i couldn’t part with them because of the memories attached….and she’s 29 today! so don’t feel bad.

  15. You are sentimental. Not materialistic πŸ™‚ I know how it is when kids grow up and I have to discard the timy clothes. I got sentimental with the smallest clothes because the babies were quite small then. These days I’m too happy to give away things because I have hoarded so many things, soe things that neither the brat nor baby uses πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

