Of My Phobia

September 27, 2007 at 10:23 am | Posted in Memories, Phobia | 5 Comments

Do you remember yourself being scared of something , since you were young and without knowing the reasons of your fear. I have had two such fears ever since I was born. Yes, even before my memory lasts.

I am scared of Buses and Horses. Yes I AM. In my late twenties, I still AM. ‘Why?’ is what I could never know. But yes I did ride a horse and I did ride a bus ofcourse. Funny part is , I am not scared of any of the two , while using them. I mean, when I was riding the horse I was not scared. And I am not scared when I am inside a bus.

But my mom told me that I used to cry at the sight of a bus and it was always tough to handle me at a bus stand. When I was young, I remember my heart beating fast at the sight of a running bus.My friends would laugh at how my bycycle would go off the road , when I would see a bus coming.

Same it was with horses. When a running horse’s feet tap on the road , I feel the tap in my heart and on my head.

Things did improve as I grew up. I am not not THAT scared of buses anymore. I did travel in DTC buses in delhi for 2 years and that helped me wave off 99% of my fear. But still sometimes I feel a slight increase in my heartbeat , when I see a bus , while I cross the road. If thats a Truck , I don’t mind 😛

Could it be that I was run away by a bus in my previous birth ..hehehe..sounds stupid ..but well that can be the ONLY reason.

Whatever it is , since childhood I have been making a concious effort to get rid of this and success has been coming slowly. Still have to work on horses though 😀

Do write about your Fears and Phobias , if any ?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Fear of Buses?? Very unique

  2. I’ve always had fear of heights and it hasn’t gotten any better with time.

  3. Wow I had never heard about anyone being scared of buses or horses!I have a great fear of snakes and height. I hate going to the snake park section of any zoo and avoid any of those roller coaster rides too because of the fear.

  4. hehehe… I have a great fear of cows and their big horns. In my childhood I use to run away from market if I come across a cow with big horns. Till now I found myself praying and mumbling “hanuman chalisa” if a cow is standing nearby.

  5. Swati,

    > Could it be that I was run away by
    > a bus in my previous birth
    > ..hehehe..sounds stupid ..but well
    > that can be the ONLY reason.

    Yes, that could be the ONLY reason. I believe that most of our phobias rest in the related traumatic experiences we might have had to go through in the past life or lives.

    No, I don’t think you are stupid. I think you are being very logical.

    Regards,
    Reema.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.